LibGuides: Multimodal Rhetoric in a Digital World: (i)dentity, Gender and (Re)action: Library Research

Library Resources for Gender Studies

The Research Guides

Gender Studies Guides
This page includes a list of Research Guides on a wide variety of gender issues. The guides lead you through the research process. Use the resources listed on the guide to find reliable material for your speeches, presentations, and papers.

The Library Catalog

Library Catalog
Enter your keyword, author, or title in the search box at the top of the page to get a list of books in the library. See the Research Guide for your specific topic to get the best keywords and a list of books on that topic. Some examples include:

Library Databases

Listed below are a few databases where you will find magazine, journal, and newspaper articles for gender studies research.

Remember:

Always search databases using only the keywords that best describe your topic
Keywords can be combined into a search string with the operators "and", "or", "not"

GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
ProQuest's full-text collection of publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas. Includes academic and scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets, and government and non-governmental organization special reports.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary full text for more than 12,000 scholarly journals, including nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed titles. Offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more. Also includes many popular magazines.
MasterFile Complete This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text for more than 2,400 magazines and journals, 850 reference books, and more than 73,000 primary source documents covering general news, reference, business, health, education, general science, and more including image collections of photos, maps and flags.
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Provides access to magazine, journal and newspaper citations and articles from Ethnic NewsWatch, GenderWatch and the US Major Dailies, which includes most major American newspapers such as the Los Angeles Times, Christian Science Monitor, New York Times, Wall Street Journal and Washington Post.

Gender Publications in Our Databases

GenderWatch, Academic Search Complete, and MasterFile Complete have many magazines and journals that focus on gender issues.