LibGuides: Researching Your Cultural Artifact: Find Articles

Finding Articles on Your Topic image of newspaper articles

Research on a subject is seldom complete without magazines, journals, and newspapers. You can find these articles in databases.

A database is a collection of information. Most of the library's databases are electronic indexes, or lists, used to locate articles. You search these databases by typing in keywords. If you have a hard time getting the articles you want or don't know what database to use, Chat with a Librarian and we'll help you.

To access the databases from off campus you will be prompted to enter your Cerritos College User ID and password. For more login information see the Database Login page.

See the Database Page for a complete description of the Cerritos College Library online resources.

Use the following databases to find articles that are most relevant to your topic.

Always search databases using only the keywords that best describe your topic
Keywords can be combined into a search string with the operators "and", "or", "not"

See the Database Page for a complete description of the Cerritos College Library online resources.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary full text for more than 12,000 scholarly journals, including nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed titles. Offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more. Also includes many popular magazines.
America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Includes literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. It includes selective indexing for 1,700 journals from 1955 to present as well as full-text coverage of more than 200 journals and nearly 100 books. Click here for title list.
Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
Full text of more than 720 journals covering topics such as art history, architecture, advertising, archeology, costume design, decorative arts, graphic arts, museum studies, painting, pottery, and sculpture.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
ProQuest's multidisciplinary, full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals from ethnic, minority and native presses. Covers current and historical topics. Searchable in both English and Spanish.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
ProQuest's full-text collection of publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas. Includes academic and scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets, and government and non-governmental organization special reports.
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Definitive research tool for the study of theatre and the performing arts. Perfect for those dance history assignments.More than 490 full-text titles, including more than 170 full-text journals, and more than 360 full-text books & monographs. Over 60,00 sources indexed.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles, books, and primary sources supporting multiple disciplines such as art, art history, architecture, history, language, literature, film, dance, and the performing arts.
MasterFile Complete This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text for more than 2,400 magazines and journals, 850 reference books, and more than 73,000 primary source documents covering general news, reference, business, health, education, general science, and more including image collections of photos, maps and flags.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the full-text to more than 180 scholarly and peer-reviewed journal titles in history, literature, philosophy, religion, theater, music and film, among others.
US Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
ProQuest's full-text collection of twenty-one major US newspapers such as the Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Chicago Tribune, The Washington Post, and the Wall Street Journal. Coverage from 1980 - present.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive sociology research database. Great for research on human behavior, societies, and organizations. Full text for more than 860 journals dating back to 1908, more than 830 books and monographs, and over 16,800 conference papers.