Finding Articles on Your Topic 
Research on a subject is seldom complete without magazines, journals, and newspapers. You can find these articles in databases.
A database is a collection of information. Most of the library's databases are electronic indexes, or lists, used to locate articles. You search these databases by typing in keywords. If you have a hard time getting the articles you want or don't know what database to use, Chat with a Librarian and we'll help you.
To access the databases from off campus you will be prompted to enter your Cerritos College User ID and password. For more login information see the Database Login page.
See the Database Page for a complete description of the Cerritos College Library online resources.
Use the following databases to find articles that are most relevant to your topic. See the Database Page for a complete description of the Cerritos College Library online resources.
Remember:
HOW TO VIDEO: How to search Academic Search Complete (applies to all Ebsco databases)
HOW TO VIDEO: How to search US Major Dailies (applies to all Proquest databases)
 |
What is a Scholarly Journal? |
Scholarly journals are generally published by and for experts. A publication is considered to be peer reviewed if its articles go through an official editorial process that involves review and approval by the author’s peers (people who are experts in the same subject area.) Articles in scholarly journals present new, previously unpublished research. Scholarly sources will almost always include:
Use scholarly journals for highly focused original research.
Examples: AMA: The Journal of the American Medical Association, African American Review, Modern Fiction Studies, American Psychologist and American Sociological Review
 |
What is a Popular Magazine? |
Articles in popular magazines tend to be written by staff writers or freelance journalists and are geared towards a general audience. While most magazines adhere to editorial standards, articles do not go through a peer review process and rarely contain bibliographic citations. Popular magazines are periodicals that one typically finds at grocery stores, airport newsstands, or bookstores. Use popular magazines for a general overview of current news and opinions, or firsthand accounts of an event.
Examples: Popular magazines range from highly respected publications such as Scientific American and The Atlantic Monthly to general interest magazines like People, Sports Illustrated and Newsweek and US News & World Report.
 |
What is a Trade Publication? |
Trade publications focus on a specific profession or trade. Articles in trade magazines cover the interest of skilled laborers, technicians, and artisans. Professional magazines cover the interests of professors, librarians, and members of other fields that require advanced degrees. Subject magazines cover a topic of interest to one or more professions. Use trade magazines for overviews of news and research in a particular field.
Examples: Legal Assistant Today and Library Journal