Databases and E-Resources: About Library Databases

What is a Database?

A database is an organized collection of information. In general, databases provide an efficient means to store, manage, and retrieve all sorts of data and information. The Cerritos College Library databases provide free online access to information from published works such as magazines, newspapers, scholarly journals, books, encyclopedias, and other resources.

The Cerritos College Library databases:

• provide access to authoritative information sources
• provide access to resources across a wide spectrum of topic and subject areas
• provide access to many years’ worth of published information at no cost to students
• give citation information to help you locate and cite the articles
• give an abstract or summary to tell you what the article is about
• provide articles in full-text or PDF format

All of the Library's databases are available from any computer on campus. Remote access to the databases is available to Cerritos College students, faculty, and staff.

Remote access requires a login. 

ALERT: There have been problems accessing the Library's databases using IE or Chrome.  Please use Mozilla Firefox or change your privacy settings in IE so you are not running in protected mode.

• Students: Login using your Cerritos College ID number and password, just as you would login to the campus network. You must be currently enrolled in a class.

• Faculty and Staff: Login using your Cerritos College network username and password.

• Students: Login using your Cerritos College ID number and password, just as you would login to the campus network. You must be currently enrolled in a class.
• Faculty and Staff: Login using your Cerritos College network username and password.