LibGuides: Databases and E-Resources: Database Tutorials

Video Tutorials - GALE | EBSCO | ProQuest (In Depth LibGuide Resource)

Database Tutorial: Gale

GALE Interface Tutorials for the following GALE databases: Gale Virtual Reference Library | Opposing Viewpoints in Context | Artemis Literary Sources |

Database Tutorial: EBSCOhost

EBSCOhost tutorial videos and PowerPoint files regarding the EBSCOhost interface: Basic Search, Advance Search, Results and Citation are the topics presented.

Database Tutorial: ProQuest

PROQUEST Interface Tutorials for the following PROQUEST databases: ebrary ebooks | Ethnic Newswatch | Gender Watch | National Newspapers Core | Business Dateline

Suggested Basic Research WorkFlow Process:

GALE eBooks - Research can begin with background information on People, Places, topics or subjects
* This database provides a foundational background for researchers to define their Concepts with objective sources.
Gale eBooks Provides access to the content of more than 270 reference sources in a database format for multidisciplinary research. (Formerly known as Gale Virtual Reference Library.)
Opposing ViewPoints (GALE) - Research Pro/Con topics in a trend analysis format.
*This database provides good overall coverage of information of up to date controversial topics. Compliments the Gale eBook database.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context Resource to investigate hot topics and social issues. Contains pro/con viewpoints, background information, statistics, primary sources, news articles, and podcasts.
EBSCO - Academic Search Complete - Research scholarly, peer-reviewed articles (And other periodical formats) within specific research focus keywords. Complex boolean query searching.
*This database requires an understanding beforehand about the nature of your topic. Scholarly focused audience.
Academic Search Complete Multi-disciplinary full text for more than 12,000 scholarly journals, including nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed titles. Offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more. Also includes many popular magazines.

Research is a process that requires a constant review and adjustment of your research strategy.

Before you get started on your research, it's a great idea to brainstorm a list of keywords for all the key concepts in your research question. The process will require cyclic revision along the research process as needed. This process of Keyword Development will require you to research background information first before you search for more advance concepts with alternative terms.

Development of Keywords:

Define your topic - You can't research or write about a topic if you can't articulate what it is.
Try writing your topic down as a sentence or a question
Think of keywords to describe each concept involved in your topic
Focus on synonyms and related terms. What are other ways to state your topic? Is there a specific word that will describe an abstract concept in your topic?

Sample topic: Does the death penalty unfairly target minorities?

Concept 1: death penalty Alternative Terms: capital punishment, execution

Concept 2: unfairly targeting minorities Alternative Terms1: discrimination, racism, prejudice Alternative Terms2: African-American, Hispanic, ethnic groups

Afterwards, with a better understanding of your research process, your ability and knowledge of library databases will improve. Research is a process that requires a constant review and adjustment of your research strategy.

Databases and E-Resources: Database Tutorials

Video Tutorials - GALE | EBSCO | ProQuest (In Depth LibGuide Resource)

Database Tutorial: Gale

Database Tutorial: EBSCOhost

Database Tutorial: ProQuest

About Library Databases

Types of Sources - Five Videos

Library Research Process (Basic)