Databases and E-Resources: Search Tips

A library database is both an electronic catalog and the access point to information from published works, such as magazines, newspapers, encyclopedias, journals and other resources.

• Library databases provide access to authoritative information sources.

• Library databases provide access to resources across a wide spectrum of topic and subject areas.

• Library databases provide access to many years worth of published information at no cost to students.

• Library databases allow you to to limit or expand your search results by using the Boolean operators AND, OR, NOT.

• Library databases give you citation information to help you locate and cite the articles.

• Library databases give you an abstract or summary to tell you what the article is about.

• Most Library databases provide articles in full-text or PDF format.

Before you get started on your research, it's a great idea to brainstorm a list of keywords for all the key concepts in your research question.

Try some of these steps in thinking of keywords:

• Define your topic - You can't research or write about a topic if you can't articulate what it is.
• Try writing your topic down as a sentence or a question
• Think of keywords to describe each concept involved in your topic
• Focus on synonyms and related terms. What are other ways to state your topic? Is there a specific word that will describe an abstract concept in your topic?

Sample topic: Does the death penalty unfairly target minorities?

Concept 1: death penalty

Alternative Terms: capital punishment, execution

Concept 2: unfairly targeting minorities

Alternative Terms: discrimination, racism, prejudice

Alternative Terms: African-American, Hispanic, ethnic groups

Keyword Search? or Subject Headings?

Keyword search allows you to use your own words to describe what you're looking for. This is how you typically search the Web using search engines like Google or Bing.

Subject headings describe the content of an item using terms that are standardized across a database. A subject heading search will return all items on that topic in a database.

To find out whether a particular database uses subject headings, look for a link labelled Thesaurus or Subject Terms. Many databases allow you to search or browse their subject headings.

How do I find subject headings?

• Start with a keyword search, using words/phrases that describe your topic.
• Browse the results; choose 2 or 3 that are relevant.
• Look at the Subject or Descriptor field and note the terms used (write them down).
• Redo your search using those terms.

DATABASE TUTORIALS:

• EBSCOhost
• GALE (GVRL/Opposing Viewpoints)
• Proquest

Need Help 

The Cerritos College Librarians can help you with your research in a variety of ways:

• In person
• By email
• By phone
• Chat

Librarians are available during library hours to answer your questions by phone or chat.
(562) 860-2451 x2425