530+ page open textbook designed to provide a comprehensive introduction to Earth Science that can be freely accessed online, read offline, printed, or purchased as a print-on-demand book. It is intended for a typical 1000-level university introductory course in the Geosciences, although its contents could be applied to many other related courses. It includes high-quality images and figures and self-assessment questions embedded in each chapter.
Students learn concepts and practice knowledge by conducting inquiries guided with examples based on videos and interactive diagrams.
The online geology lab was developed by Dr. Rondi Davies, a faculty member at Queensborough Community College, City University New York. This open educational resource collects an assortment of open-access materials and supplements them with Dr. Davies' own work within a single, cohesive laboratory manual.
This textbook is a comprehensive lab manual for the core curriculum Introductory Geosciences classes with both informational content and laboratory exercises. Topics include basic laws and theories in Geology, the Earth's interior and plate tectonics, water and climate change, igneous rocks and volcanoes, and earthquakes.
Collect Earth Online is a free, open-source system for viewing and interpreting high-resolution satellite imagery. It enables users to efficiently collect up-to-date information about their environment and observe changes over time. CEO was developed by SERVIR, a joint initiative of NASA and USAID, working in partnership with leading technical organizations around the world, and the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations.
This text surveys findings of the new field of Environmental History about how the environment of the Americas influenced the actions of people here and how people affected their environments, from prehistory to the present.
Collect Earth Online is a free, open-source system for viewing and interpreting high-resolution satellite imagery. It enables users to efficiently collect up-to-date information about their environment and observe changes over time. CEO was developed by SERVIR, a joint initiative of NASA and USAID, working in partnership with leading technical organizations around the world, and the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations.
This manual is about structures that occur within the Earth’s crust, consisting of both readings and lab exercises alternated throughout the text. The readings are designed to be read and understood outside the lab sessions, whereas the labs contain specific instructions and questions to be completed. Before each lab, be sure you have covered the readings that come immediately before it.
Written by a professional geologist, this book explores Earth's geological history and evolution. It covers Earth's motion through space, energy, matter, atmosphere, water, core, life, and human activity.
The authors' goal in creating the material for this lab manual was to focus heavily on students making observations of geologic data, whether rocks, minerals, fossils, maps, graphs, and other things. The exercises and examples used in this book are scattered throughout the world.
Collect Earth Online is a free, open-source system for viewing and interpreting high-resolution satellite imagery. It enables users to efficiently collect up-to-date information about their environment and observe changes over time. CEO was developed by SERVIR, a joint initiative of NASA and USAID, working in partnership with leading technical organizations around the world, and the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations.
This course is housed in a Google Site containing collected background readings from open-source sites such as Biology 2e from Openstax. and also provides lecture slides to assist instructors in preparing for class. The laboratory portion of the course, also outlined on the site, contains detailed instructions, and served as an online lab manual. Instructors who use the website are provided test banks to use for homework assignments.
Quantitative Ecology introduces and discusses the principles of ecology from populations to ecosystems including human populations, disease, exotic organisms, habitat fragmentation, biodiversity and global dynamics. The book also reformulates and unifies ecological equations making them more accessible to the reader and easier to teach.
Collect Earth Online is a free, open-source system for viewing and interpreting high-resolution satellite imagery. It enables users to efficiently collect up-to-date information about their environment and observe changes over time. CEO was developed by SERVIR, a joint initiative of NASA and USAID, working in partnership with leading technical organizations around the world, and the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations.
Introduction to Oceanography is a textbook appropriate to an introductory-level university course in oceanography. The book covers the fundamental geological, chemical, physical and biological processes in the ocean, with an emphasis on the North Atlantic region. Available online, as a PDF and as an eBook.
This textbook covers physical-oceanographic processes, theories, data, and measurements, targeted at upper-division undergraduates and graduate students in oceanography, meteorology, and ocean engineering. In addition to the classical topics, the author includes discussions of heat fluxes, the role of the ocean in climate, the deep circulation, equatorial processes including El Nino, data bases used by oceanographers, the role of satellites and data from space, ship-based measurements, and the importance of vorticity in understanding oceanic flows. Suited for students who have studied differential equations and introductory college physics.
A collection of video animations that illustrate processes important in the field of Physical Oceanography, including tides, currents, estuaries, seiches, El Nino, and the global heat balance. Also included are figures illustrating concepts in Light, Color and Remote Sensing.
Collect Earth Online is a free, open-source system for viewing and interpreting high-resolution satellite imagery. It enables users to efficiently collect up-to-date information about their environment and observe changes over time. CEO was developed by SERVIR, a joint initiative of NASA and USAID, working in partnership with leading technical organizations around the world, and the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations.
The Climate Toolkit is a resource manual designed to help the reader navigate the complex and perplexing issue of climate change by providing tools and strategies to explore the underlying science. As such it contains a collection of activities that make use of readily available on-line resources developed by research groups and public agencies. These include web-based climate models, climate data archives, interactive atlases, policy papers, and “solution” catalogs. Unlike a standard textbook, it is designed to help readers do their own climate research and devise their own perspective.
This book describes how Earth's climate is changing, how it has been changing in the recent geological past and how it may change in the future. It covers the physical sciences that build the foundations of our current understanding of global climate change such as radiation, Earth's energy balance, the greenhouse effect and the carbon cycle. Both natural and human causes for climate change are discussed.
Collect Earth Online is a free, open-source system for viewing and interpreting high-resolution satellite imagery. It enables users to efficiently collect up-to-date information about their environment and observe changes over time. CEO was developed by SERVIR, a joint initiative of NASA and USAID, working in partnership with leading technical organizations around the world, and the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations.
530+ page open textbook designed to provide a comprehensive introduction to Earth Science that can be freely accessed online, read offline, printed, or purchased as a print-on-demand book. It is intended for a typical 1000-level university introductory course in the Geosciences, although its contents could be applied to many other related courses. It includes high-quality images and figures and self-assessment questions embedded in each chapter.
Introduction to Environmental Sciences and Sustainability is a college-level Open Educational Resource (OER) that focuses on the most relevant environmental science issues and addresses ways to incorporate sustainable practices. The text is designed for an introductory-level college science course. Topics include the fundamentals of ecology, biodiversity, pollution, climate change, food production, human population growth, and incorporating sustainable approaches in our communities, economies, and environments. This resource is targeted at environmental science students.
Collect Earth Online is a free, open-source system for viewing and interpreting high-resolution satellite imagery. It enables users to efficiently collect up-to-date information about their environment and observe changes over time. CEO was developed by SERVIR, a joint initiative of NASA and USAID, working in partnership with leading technical organizations around the world, and the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations.
Fundamentals of Human Geography is a college-level digital textbook aimed at introducing undergraduate students to the field of human and cultural geography. Each chapter contains interactive content.
The book is available in a PDF and a web-based interactive textbook. The PDF version does not include videos, sound clips, interactive maps, and graphs. Additionally, certain accessibility features, such as alt text for images, are not present in the PDF version. Thus, for the full experience, please refer to the web-based interactive textbook version.
Contains 13 chapters, with each focusing on a different aspect of human geography. Previous users say that it is fairly comprehensive, but a bit outdated. It's recommended to use this textbook as a base and edit outdated portions as necessary. Available in PDF, Hardcopy, or Microsoft Word formats.
This text surveys findings of the new field of Environmental History about how the environment of the Americas influenced the actions of people here and how people affected their environments, from prehistory to the present.
Collect Earth Online is a free, open-source system for viewing and interpreting high-resolution satellite imagery. It enables users to efficiently collect up-to-date information about their environment and observe changes over time. CEO was developed by SERVIR, a joint initiative of NASA and USAID, working in partnership with leading technical organizations around the world, and the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations.
This text takes a thematic approach to thinking geographically. Each chapter is focused on a central theme and then exploring that theme in detail as it applies to the particular region. The theme of globalization and inequality unites all of the regions discussed. Chapters are designed to stand alone and be rearranged or eliminated at the instructor's discretion.
Available as PDF, eBook, or Hardcopy.
World Regional Geography: People, Places and Globalization provides students with a working knowledge of world geography in an easy-to-read format. Basic geographic concepts of world places are presented in concise chapters, and each chapter provides a foundational framework for understanding the development patterns of world regions. Each chapter focuses on one subject or region
Collect Earth Online is a free, open-source system for viewing and interpreting high-resolution satellite imagery. It enables users to efficiently collect up-to-date information about their environment and observe changes over time. CEO was developed by SERVIR, a joint initiative of NASA and USAID, working in partnership with leading technical organizations around the world, and the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations.
This textbook was designed especially for College of the Canyons students, as a resource to instill the knowledge and adventure that the discipline of geography holds for so many of us. The following units will cover a wide array of topics such as: Earth’s grid system, rivers, oceans, deserts, basic geology, and cartography.
This peer-reviewed lab manual includes twenty lab exercises designed for California community college students.
This lab manual is intended to be used in introductory physical geography lab courses. It is tailored to the Antelope Valley College program, but can be adapted for use elsewhere. Certain labs reference The Essential World Atlas, and Physical Geography, both published by Oxford University Press. Other textbooks can be substituted as needed.
Compilation of supplemental materials for introductory geography classes, developed by Foothill College.
Collect Earth Online is a free, open-source system for viewing and interpreting high-resolution satellite imagery. It enables users to efficiently collect up-to-date information about their environment and observe changes over time. CEO was developed by SERVIR, a joint initiative of NASA and USAID, working in partnership with leading technical organizations around the world, and the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations.
The Physical Environment was one of the first, totally online physical geography learning environments. The Physical Environment combines text, images, audio and video programs to deliver the subject matter content. A multimedia online environment enables new and different ways to interact with textbook content.
This textbook was designed especially for Community College students, as a resource to instill the knowledge and adventure that the discipline of geography holds for so many of us. The following units will cover a wide array of topics such as: California’s water resources, geology, weather, climate, culture, architecture, and agriculture. This was created by Jeremy Patrich at College of the Canyons with the help of the California Community Colleges Chancellor’s Office and the Santa Clarita Community College District.
Collect Earth Online is a free, open-source system for viewing and interpreting high-resolution satellite imagery. It enables users to efficiently collect up-to-date information about their environment and observe changes over time. CEO was developed by SERVIR, a joint initiative of NASA and USAID, working in partnership with leading technical organizations around the world, and the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations.
An open geography resource in which students apply their learning using GIS tools.
Web page that defines geographic fieldwork, the processes behind fieldwork, and its importance to the study as a whole. Can be used as an introductory lesson in "Field Studies for Geography."
This peer-reviewed lab manual includes twenty lab exercises designed for California community college students.
Collect Earth Online is a free, open-source system for viewing and interpreting high-resolution satellite imagery. It enables users to efficiently collect up-to-date information about their environment and observe changes over time. CEO was developed by SERVIR, a joint initiative of NASA and USAID, working in partnership with leading technical organizations around the world, and the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations.
A collection of open access online resources from North American universities for soil science teaching.
Includes resources, webinars, videos and examples from US universities.
A growing collection of online teaching resources for geosciences.
Free supplemental resources for classes in the Earth Sciences.
