Catherine Locks, et. al., The University Press of North Georgia, 2013.
This textbook examines U.S. History from before European Contact through Reconstruction, while focusing on the people and their history. Prior to its publication, History in the Making underwent a rigorous double blind peer review, a process that involved over thirty scholars who reviewed the materially carefully, objectively, and candidly in order to ensure not only its scholarly integrity but also its high standard of quality.
This textbook is "a free and online, collaboratively built, open American history textbook designed for college-level history courses." This comprehensive digital textbook (with low-cost physical copies available) covers major American history events from pre-Columbian era to the Reconstruction era.
P. Scott Corbett, et. al., 2014.
U.S. History provides a balanced approach to U.S. history, considering the people, events, and ideas that have shaped the United States from both the top down (politics, economics, diplomacy) and bottom up (eyewitness accounts, lived experience). U.S. History covers key forces that form the American experience, with particular attention to issues of race, class, and gender.
This textbook is "a free and online, collaboratively built, open American history textbook designed for college-level history courses." This comprehensive digital textbook (with low-cost physical copies available) covers major American history events from the Reconstruction era to the present.
P. Scott Corbett, et. al., 2014.
U.S. History provides a balanced approach to U.S. history, considering the people, events, and ideas that have shaped the United States from both the top down (politics, economics, diplomacy) and bottom up (eyewitness accounts, lived experience). U.S. History covers key forces that form the American experience, with particular attention to issues of race, class, and gender.
Joshua Farrington, Norman W. Powell, Gwendolyn Graham, and Ogechi E. Anyanwu, Eastern Kentucky University (EKU), 2019.
This collaborative, interdisciplinary open textbook by EKU faculty "gives instructors, students, and general readers a comprehensive and up-to-date account of African Americans’ cultural and political history, economic development, artistic expressiveness, and religious and philosophical worldviews."
John Mack Faragher, Yale University Press, 2022.
"A concise and lively history of California, the most multicultural state in the nation." Covers California history comprehensively, with an emphasis on the state's historically diverse population.
Mexican history from pre-Aztecan times to the 20th century. Translated from Spanish. No PDF available for download.
Trejo, et. al., University of Arizona Press, 2019.
"Thirteen Chicano scholars draw upon their personal experiences and expertise to paint a vivid, colorful portrait of what it means to be a Chicano...This book provides the most complete recorded definition of the Chicano Movement, what it has accomplished, and its goals for the future."
Jeffrey S. Ravel, MIT OpenCourseware, 2005.
A selective survey of Latin American history from the beginning of the twentieth century to the present. Issues studied include Latin America in the global economy, relations between Latin America and the U.S., dictatorships and democracies in the twentieth century, African and Indigenous cultures, feminism and gender, cultural politics, revolution in Mexico, Cuba, and Central America, and Latin American identity.
Brian Francis Connaughton Hanley & Mark Alan Healey, University of Calgary Press, 2003.
Clerical ideology played an important role in the complex cultural transition Mexico underwent from the late eighteenth to early nineteenth centuries. This study aims to accurately situate clerical ideology in relation to the social, economic and political transformation promoted by both the Enlightened absolutism of the late colonial regime and the new, independent state born in 1821.
Claudia Milian, University of Georgia Press, 2013.
Latining America keeps company with and challenges existent models of Latinidad, demanding a distinct paradigm that puts into question what is understood as Latino and Latina today. Milian conceptually considers how underexplored "Latin" participants-the southern, the black, the dark brown, the Central American-have ushered in a new world of "Latined" signification from the 1920s to the present. Published by University of Georgia Press.
Jeffrey S. Ravel, MIT OpenCourseware, 2005.
A selective survey of Latin American history from the beginning of the twentieth century to the present. Issues studied include Latin America in the global economy, relations between Latin America and the U.S., dictatorships and democracies in the twentieth century, African and Indigenous cultures, feminism and gender, cultural politics, revolution in Mexico, Cuba, and Central America, and Latin American identity.
This hybrid textbook and open course is a comprehensive set of teaching materials for Western Civilization I (until 1648). Topics covered include prehistory and ancient history by region, the Middle Ages, the Renaissance, and the Reformation. Accessible files with optical character recognition (OCR) and auto-tagging are available.
Chapters include the Protestant Reformation, The Enlightenment, The French Revolution & the Reign of Terror, The Industrial Revolution, The First World War, The Russian Revolution, and The Second World War & the Holocaust.
Western Civilization: A Concise History – Revised is an adaptation of Western Civilization: A Concise History by Christopher Brooks, originally published in 2019, and updated in 2020. It covers the history of Western Civilization from from the origins of civilization in Mesopotamia c. 8,000 BCE through approximately 1600. Topics include Mesopotamia, Egypt, Persia, Greece, Rome, the Islamic caliphates, the European Middle Ages, the Renaissance, European conquest of the Americas, and the Reformation and resulting religious wars.
Primary source course reader for History of Western Civilization.
This OER textbook includes interactive H5P activities at the end of each chapter to reinforce concepts; review questions, terminology, and color-coded callout boxes; and updated content to improve accuracy, update information and terms, ensure a truly global focus, and emphasize diversity of source materials, viewpoints, and historical figures.
World History: Cultures, States, and Societies to 1500 offers a comprehensive introduction to the history of humankind from prehistory to 1500. Authored by six USG faculty members with advanced degrees in History, this textbook offers up-to-date original scholarship. It covers such cultures, states, and societies as Ancient Mesopotamia, Ancient Israel, Dynastic Egypt, India’s Classical Age, the Dynasties of China, Archaic Greece, the Roman Empire, Islam, Medieval Africa, the Americas, and the Khanates of Central Asia.
Includes 350 high-quality images and maps, chronologies, and learning questions to help guide student learning. Its digital nature allows students to follow links to applicable sources and videos, expanding their educational experience beyond the textbook.
World History Since 1500: An Open and Free Textbook is designed to cover world history from 1500 to the present in 15 chapters. The OER-supported textbook weaves insights from many perspectives that will help students connect ideas, geographical locations, and timelines, allowing them to think critically and broadly about the world around them. In addition to helping students master the sequence and scope of world history from 1500, the textbook helps develop empathy for people who live and lived in different parts of the world and during different historical times leading to the creation of empathic and knowledgeable global citizens who are aware of and concerned about the world around them. Can be downloaded as a PDF or viewed online.
Covers global history events from the Enlightenment to recent history of the Middle East.
A primary source reader with materials related to medieval Britain. Downloadable PDF.
List of multimedia resources to supplement lessons in the History of Britain and Medieval history, including interactives, and audio of medieval titles being read aloud in their original language of Old/Middle English.
Topics include: 1 ) Modern World History Begins in Asia, 2) Europe and Africa, 3) The Americas and Columbus, 4) Early Globalization and Revolutions, 5) Troubled Nineteenth Century, 6) Imperialism, 7) The Great War, 8) Modern Crisis, 9) World War II, 10) Decolonization, 11) Cold War, 12) Neoliberal Globalization, and 13) Limits to Growth?. Available in multiple formats: eBook, PDF, Online, and XML.
World history OER that has been adapted to "provide a more globally integrated narrative." Last verified and updated as of 2018 (may need updating as of 2024).
