This courseware includes resources copyrighted and openly licensed materials authored by multiple individuals and organizations. Click the words “Licenses and Attributions” at the bottom of each page for copyright and licensing information specific to the material on that page.
Introductory Sociology textbook that has been updated and adapted into LibreTexts from Steven E. Barkan's Sociology: Comprehensive Edition.
Most chapters begin with a “Social Issues in the News” story taken from recent media coverage that recounts an event related to the chapter’s topic and uses it as a starting point for the chapter’s discussion. Additional material at the end of the chapter discusses promising strategies for addressing the social issues presented in the news story and in the chapter as a whole. The inclusion and discussion of “Social Issues in the News” will help students appreciate the relevance of sociology for newsworthy events and issues.
The chapters in the book include foundational sociological works by Marx and Engels, Durkheim, Weber, and other early American sociologists.
This openly licensed text, created with students, approaches contemporary families from an equity lens. It asks two questions: “What do families need?” and “How do society and institutions support or get in the way of families getting what they need?" Original content is licensed under CC BY, except as otherwise noted.
This textbook offers the first comprehensive view of technology in the family for college students, professionals and the public. Each chapter offers content and a complete reference list, learning activities, ideas for critical blog posting and additional readings. Textbook can be read online, as an eBook, or as a PDF.
This book provides an overview of lifespan developmental tasks (physical, cognitive, language, social, emotional) examined from individual and family theoretical perspectives. It covers topics related to families, diversity, individual and family health and well-being, and reciprocal relationships as affected by external factors.
Textbook adapted from the first edition of Sociology of the Family by Ron Hammond and Paul Cheney. It covers family structures, dynamics, cultures, gender, intimacy, and sexuality. It also introduces readers to family-related sociological research methods. Touches on aging in Chapter 10.
This book has been created for students and all individuals who work with children and families (e.g., educators, parents, caregivers, direct support workers, etc.) in diverse contexts. Key concepts related to parenting, child-rearing, care-giving, and parenting education are outlined in this textbook to provide historical, theoretical, and practical perspectives across vast settings and developmental domains.
This textbook is an excellent case study of the sociological analysis of the family in the United States. The material is intentionally selected in hopes that it will be useful in students' personal and larger social life experiences. Readers will find personal examples being connected to examples of scientific methods and statistics used by sociologists.
This is an introductory human sexuality textbook, divided into 20 chapters on a spectrum of topics related to human sexuality: gender, sexual orientation, attraction, STDs, conception & contraception, as well as touching on sexual trauma, sex work, and paraphilias for a well-rounded approach to the subject.
Introduction to LGBTQ+ Studies offers accessible, academically sound information on a wide range of topics, including history, culture, and Queer Theory; an exploration of LGBTQ+ relationships, families, parenting, health, and education; and how to conduct research on LGBTQ+ topics. The book explores intersectional LGBTQ+ issues from the ancient world to contemporary global perspectives.
Gender and Sexualities: An Inquiry provides an interdisciplinary and intersectional framework for thinking critically about the historical and contemporary applications of knowledge about gender and sexuality.
Content included in Sexuality, the Self, and Society is aligned with the typical scope for an introductory, interdisciplinary Human Sexuality Textbook. It is written to be a complete text for a semester length course but could be used, in part, reorganized, or edited. Continually updated by the original author.
This textbook includes valuable cases for student use on issues of discrimination, diversity, equity, inclusion and general social issues in the workplace. Included are cases for discussion on workplace scenarios as follows: homophobia; working with Indigenous communities; oil and gas pipelines and the family ranch; invisible disabilities; employee anxiety; safety for women, transgender women and non-binary people; and the bullying of new immigrants and refugees. Each case is supplemented with modifiable discussion prompts, notes for teaching strategies, and a short reading list.
This book provides helps introductory social work students evaluate research for evidence-based practice, and design their own social work research projects.
This book is designed to introduce students to the process of scientific research in the social sciences, business, education, public health, and related disciplines.
This book is meant to help students in their initial attempts to analyze data. In doing so it will introduce them to different qualitative and quantitative methods.
The book is supported by discussion of relevant theory and research in cultural sociology. Beyond Race: Cultural Influences on Human Social Life has stressed learner-centered teaching with the instructor taking on the role of a facilitator of learning. Note that while this appears to be funded by a federal education grant, it does not appear to be published by an institution.
This book introduces topics about identity, dress, and the body. Students will explore how individuals and communities use dress as a way to communicate their various identities. There is heightened attention to social justice, power, privilege, and oppression. Content focuses on the experiences of historically marginalized communities and the ways they navigate dress and dressing their bodies in different contexts.
Intercultural Communication explores the opportunities and problems arising from similarities and differences in communication patterns, processes, and codes among various cultural groups. It explores cultural universals, social categorization, stereotyping and discrimination, with a focus on topics including race, ethnicity, social class, religion, gender and sexuality as they relate to communication.
This open text was compiled by six diverse, community college sociology faculty from Long Beach City College, Cerritos College, and Santiago Canyon College. With an eye on social justice and intersectionality, the text provides a sociological analysis of the history, demographics, and contemporary experiences of the following race-ethnic groups: African Americans, Asian American Pacific Islanders, Euro Americans, Latinx, Native Americans, Middle Eastern Americans, and immigrants. This text is suitable for a sociology course on race and ethnic relations or a social justice studies introductory course.
The book is supported by discussion of relevant theory and research in cultural sociology. Beyond Race: Cultural Influences on Human Social Life has stressed learner-centered teaching with the instructor taking on the role of a facilitator of learning.
This text was inspired by students and co-authored by people who are tend to be under-represented in higher education. These realistic, emotional cases are designed to help students grapple with ethical issues related to discrimination, diversity, equity, inclusion and workplace social issues. In addition to the background description and scenario, each case comes with modifiable discussion questions, notes on teaching strategies, and a reading list.
Can only be used in its full, original form, and no commercial use.
Contesting Race and Citizenship focuses on the ways Italians of African descent have become entangled with processes of redefining the legal, racial, cultural, and economic boundaries of Italy and surrounding European countries. The text opens discussions about the so-called migrant "crisis" by focusing on a generation of Black people who, although born or raised in Italy, have been thrust into the same racist, xenophobic political climate as the immigrants and refugees who are arriving in Europe from the African continent.
This book introduces topics about identity, dress, and the body. Students will explore how individuals and communities use dress as a way to communicate their various identities. There is heightened attention to social justice, power, privilege, and oppression. Content focuses on the experiences of historically marginalized communities and the ways they navigate dress and dressing their bodies in different contexts.
Intercultural Communication explores the opportunities and problems arising from similarities and differences in communication patterns, processes, and codes among various cultural groups. It explores cultural universals, social categorization, stereotyping and discrimination, with a focus on topics including race, ethnicity, social class, religion, gender and sexuality as they relate to communication.
This open text was compiled by six diverse, community college sociology faculty from Long Beach City College, Cerritos College, and Santiago Canyon College. With an eye on social justice and intersectionality, the text provides a sociological analysis of the history, demographics, and contemporary experiences of the following race-ethnic groups: African Americans, Asian American Pacific Islanders, Euro Americans, Latinx, Native Americans, Middle Eastern Americans, and immigrants. This text is suitable for a sociology course on race and ethnic relations or a social justice studies introductory course.
This book provides an introduction to social work students to help evaluate research for evidence-based practice and design social work research projects.
This book was written by MSW students as their final project for their Capstone class. Students were each assigned a chapter of the book to write to show that they had achieved competency as a Master’s level social worker. Chapters were assigned based on student interest and experience in certain areas of the field.
Course materials for an introductory social gerontology course that focuses on the aging process and problems faced by the aged. Includes 4 units with an assignment and discussion for each.
This is a 5-lesson unit from an introductory sociology open access textbook. It explores definitions of aging, the process of aging, challenges facing the elderly, and theoretical perspectives on aging. Lessons include illustrative photos, data charts, and a section quiz.
