Available in our library catalog. Introductory psychology text.
Available in our library catalog. This text has work derived from Psychology 2nd edition through OpenStax.
Available in our library catalog. Comprehensive introductory psychology textbook.
Psychology 2e is designed to meet scope and sequence requirements for the single-semester introduction to psychology course. The book offers a comprehensive treatment of core concepts, grounded in both classic studies and current and emerging research. The text also includes coverage of the DSM-5 in examinations of psychological disorders. Psychology incorporates discussions that reflect the diversity within the discipline, as well as the diversity of cultures and communities across the globe.
It also allows you to build customized assignments directly in your Learning Management System designed to keep your students engaged with a wide range of content and question types.
Open Access book available in our library catalog. The chapters in the book explore the full variety of "psy" disciplines in dictatorships and authoritarian regimes such as Nazi Germany, East European communist regimes, a Latin-American military dictatorship, and the South African apartheid regime, discussing psychology's role in legitimating and "normalizing" dictatorships. The essays' authors also explain the ideological and political foundations of ideas concerning mental health and illness in Russia, Hungary, post-war Transylvania, and Germany. Currents of critical psychology are also discussed, which try to understand how academic, therapeutic, and everyday psychological knowledge is produced within the power relations of modern-market or state-capitalist societies.
The psychodynamic perspective has evolved considerably since Freud’s time, and now includes innovative new approaches such as object relations theory and neuropsychoanalysis. Some psychodynamic concepts have held up well to empirical scrutiny while others have not, and aspects of the theory remain controversial, but the psychodynamic perspective continues to influence many different areas of contemporary psychology.
This textbook will help students learn how to describe the major models of personality within the psychodynamic perspective, define the concept of ego defense, and give examples of commonly used ego defenses, identify psychodynamic concepts that have been supported by empirical research, and discuss current trends in psychodynamic theory.
This textbook is designed for Chemeketa Community College's PSY 202. NOBA provides ancillary materials, and a common course cartridge is also available by request with more quiz questions for this content. Print copies are available here.
Psychology of Human Relations is the study of psychology from a living or personal point of view with emphasis on practical application. Attention is given to individual and group dynamics with focus on feelings and attitudes in relation to family, work and day-to-day experiences. The course includes an overview of topics including self-concept, perception, self-awareness, personality, values and communications in resolving interpersonal conflicts.
In this module of Psychology as Science, students will: review the evidence that suggests humans have a fundamental need to belong to groups, compare the sociometer model of self-esteem to a more traditional view of self-esteem, use theories of social facilitation to predict when a group will perform tasks slowly or quickly (e.g., students eating a meal as a group, workers on an assembly line, or a study group), summarize the methods used by Latané, Williams, and Harkins to identify the relative impact of social loafing and coordination problems on group performance, describe how groups change over time, apply the theory of groupthink to a well-known decision-making group, such as the group of advisors responsible for planning the Bay of Pigs operation, list and discuss the factors that facilitate and impede group performance and decision making, and develop a list of recommendations that, if followed, would minimize the possibility of groupthink developing in a group.
This text was created to provide students with a solid foundation in statistics as used in psychological, sociological, and behavioral research. Students will develop a useable understanding of research design, the organization of data, measures of central tendency and variability, central tendency theory, descriptive and inferential statistics, parametric and nonparametric tests, and basic test assumptions. The focus includes application of technology for statistical analysis including the interpretation of the relevance of the statistical findings. Applications use data from disciplines including business, social sciences, psychology, life science, health science, and education.
Introduction to Statistics in the Psychological Sciences provides an accessible introduction to the fundamentals of statistics, and hypothesis testing as need for psychology students. The textbook introduces the fundamentals of statistics, an introduction to hypothesis testing, and t Tests. Related samples, independent samples, analysis of variance, correlations, linear regressions and chi-squares are all covered along with expanded appendices with z, t, F correlation, and a Chi-Square table. The text includes key terms and exercises with answers to odd-numbered exercises.
Reviews highlight a high level of interactivity and high quality practice questions.
Online Statistics: An Interactive Multimedia Course of Study is a resource for learning and teaching introductory statistics. It contains material presented in textbook format and as video presentations. This resource features interactive demonstrations and simulations, case studies, and an analysis lab. To receive the instructor manual, PowerPoint slides, and additional questions, please contact David Lane at lane@rice.edu.
This module highlights the importance of also conducting research outside the psychology laboratory, within participants’ natural, everyday environments, and reviews existing methodologies for studying daily life.
Available in our library catalog. Open access compilation of articles on psychological research, running from 2010-present.
This module describes different research techniques that are used to study psychological phenomena in infants and children, research designs that are used to examine age-related changes in development, and unique challenges and special issues associated with conducting research with infants and children.
A comprehensive textbook for research methods classes. It is a peer-reviewed, inter-institutional project.
Available in our library catalog. Cognitive Psychology delves into the scientific exploration of various mental processes, encompassing attention, language utilization, memory, perception, problem-solving, creativity, and reasoning.
This textbook provides standard introduction to psychology course content with a specific emphasis on biological aspects of psychology. This includes more content related to neuroscience methods, the brain and the nervous system. This book can be modified: feel free to add or remove modules to better suit your specific needs.
A collection of modules on the biological causes of psychological behavior.
This module of the textbook Psychology as Science provides an overview of the study of how drugs affect behavior, as well as discuss some current controversial areas in the field of psychopharmacology.
By the end of this module of Psychology 2e, students will be able to recognize the goal of substance-related and addictive disorders treatment, discuss what makes for effective treatment, and describe how comorbid disorders are treated. Print copies are available at a low cost.
Available in our library catalog. This open access article explores gender differences in the co-occurrence of specific anxiety disorders with substance use in adolescents.
Reading with the learning objectives: 1) Describe major features of physical, cognitive, and social development during adolescence. 2) Understand why adolescence is a period of heightened risk taking.
3) Be able to explain sources of diversity in adolescent development.
Available in our library catalog. Open access developmental psychology textbook. Note that this cannot be used as part of a new OER due to its ND (NoDerivatives) license.
This set of questions for use with quizzes and tests was created under a Round Four ALG Textbook Transformation Grant with an accompanying PowerPoint lecture set. The course uses the free and open Human Development sections of Boundless Psychology. Topics covered include: Nature vs. Nurture, Piaget, Attachment, Freud, Erikson, Kohlberg, Childhood Development, Adolescent Development, Adulthood Development, and Late Adulthood.
Introduction to Human Development divides course content into three units: Unit 1: Overview, History and Biological Beginnings, Unit 2: Early Childhood to Adolescence, and Unit 3: Young Adulthood to Death. Each unit includes learning objectives, Things for students to consider while engaging with the content, PowerPoint Presentation slides, Readings from a variety of open textbooks, Activities, Supplemental readings, and videos.
This is an introductory human sexuality textbook. This textbook is divided into two parts: Reflections and Explorations in Human Sexuality and Professional and Clinical Topics in Human Sexuality. Part 1 is more introductory in nature, including ten chapters ranging from Sexology to Gender to Sexual Behaviors. Part 2 has more of a clinical approach, covering topics such as Sexuality Over the Lifespan, Sexually Transmitted Infections, and Sexual Dysfunctions and Treatment.
This open access article suggests that being out reflects resilience in the face of higher risk of victimization, in addition to promoting well-being in other ways. Nonetheless, contextual factors influence how this model operates among LGBT youth.
The Psychology of Gender is an Open Education Resource (OER) written by Kristy McRaney, Alexis Bridley, and Lee Daffin through Washington State University which studies issues related to the psychology of gender across 13 modules. Our discussion begins by explaining what gender is in relation to sex, moves to how the construct is studied, and then applies the lenses of social, developmental, cognitive, physiological, health, clinical, and industrial/organizational psychology as well as education and human sexuality.
This text has been created from a combination of original content and materials compiled and adapted from existing open educational resources. The interactive Self-Tests provided with each chapter are a new addition for this book; these were created using the H5P plugin for WordPress, and are available for others to download and use in their own instances of WordPress or Pressbooks.
This text is being developed for Abnormal Psychology lower division undergraduate courses. It is published now to allow students access to the course materials as it develops.
Available in our library catalog. This course is designed to provide an engaging and personally relevant overview of the discipline of Abnormal Psychology. Students will examine the cognitive and behavioral patterns which impair personal effectiveness and adjustment.
The book tackles the difficult topic of mental disorders in 15 modules and is updated through the DSM-5-TR. This journey starts by discussing what abnormal behavior is by attempting to understand what normal behavior is. Models of abnormal psychology and clinical assessment, diagnosis, and treatment are then discussed. With these three modules completed, the authors next explore several classes of mental disorders in 5 blocks. Block 1 covers mood, trauma and stressor related, and dissociative disorders. Block 2 covers anxiety, somatic symptom, and obsessive-compulsive disorders. Block 3 covers eating and substance-related and addictive disorders. Block 4 tackles schizophrenia spectrum and personality disorders. Finally, Block 5 investigates neurocognitive disorders and then ends with a discussion of contemporary issues in psychopathology. Disorders are covered by discussing their clinical presentation and DSM Criteria, epidemiology, comorbidity, etiology, and treatment options.
Course shell in Canvas with modules, course projects and activities, and resources including readings and videos on a variety of topics suitable for class on psychological disorders. Modules include Childhood & Neurodevelopmental Disorders, Mood Disorders, Anxiety & Obsessive Compulsive Disorders, Trauma and Stress Related Disorders, and more.
Surveys the history, theories, etiology, assessment, diagnosis, and treatment of the spectrum of psychological disorders. Intended Outcomes:
An introductory video for biological explanations of and interventions for psychological disorders. This may be a helpful tool to introduce students to biological causes and biological treatments (medicinal and non-medicinal) related to psychological disorders. Suitable for Introductory Psychology, Abnormal Psychology, and other courses that introduce basic knowledge of these topics. Runtime: 18:08
These ancillary materials, created under a Round 15 Textbook Transformation Grant, are developed for use with NOBA Project resources in Introduction to Abnormal Psychology courses.
See how people with diagnosed psychological disorders actually behave. Case studies, enriched with commentary from experts, help demystify the biological, psychological, and environmental causes of dysfunctional behavior. The series explores current theory and practice in the treatment of the mentally ill, covering the multiple approaches that prevail in the field today. This series is also valuable for teachers seeking to review the subject matter.
Here are some Psychology reference books. Most are accessible online. Others are only available in print, located in the library's Reference area. Print reference sources cannot be checked out, but students are able to photocopy pages.
Encyclopedia of Drugs, Alcohol and Addictive Behavior
The Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology
Stress in the Modern World: Understanding Science and Society
