Digital library containing 70,000 eBooks in multiple formats: Kindle. eBooks, PDF, and some audiobooks. Contains world literature and older American works for which copyright has expired.
Notable Collections:
Getty, Laura, and Kyounghye Kwon, University of North Georgia Press, 2016.
This textbook provides students a comprehensive introduction to world literature. Divided into 3 parts: 1) "The Ancient World", 2) "The Middle Ages", and 3) "The Renaissance". Covers literature from East and South Asia, the Arabic world, and Western Europe.
Turlington, Anita, Matthew Horton, and Laura Getty, University System of Georgia, 2022.
Second volume of the above anthology, picking up during the 17th and 18th centuries, continuing through the 19th century, the 20th century, and the present.
Note: The publisher recommends using the .epub format over the PDF.
Ribó, Ignasi, Open Book Publishers/BC Campus, 2019.
"This concise and highly accessible textbook outlines the principles and techniques of storytelling. It is intended as a high-school and college-level introduction to the central concepts of narrative theory that will aid students in developing their competence not only in analyzing and interpreting short stories and novels, but also in writing them."
Hallsby, Atilla, University of Minnesota Libraries Publishing, 2022.
"Students using this resource should gain a thorough understanding of what rhetoric is, how it was practiced historically and today, and the ways that rhetoric wields an invisible influence over contemporary public and political life. Additionally, this book is designed for use across a variety of modalities, including in-person, online (synchronous/asynchronous), and hybridized formats. Additional resources (PowerPoint slides, quiz/exam questions) are also available to confirmed instructors upon request."
Onich, Jody, Minnesota State Colleges and Universities, 2022.
This textbook is "an excellent primer for studying the Bible as literature," enabling a contextualized reading of the Bible informed by the history, geography, literary, and cultural norms of the time in which it was written. Can be used for both 221A and 221B.
Note: EPUB format recommended by publisher.
Edited by Melissa Castillo-Garsow, 2017.
"Containing the work of more than 40 poets—equally divided between men and women—who self-identify as Afro-Latino, ¡Manteca! is the first poetry anthology to highlight writings by Latinos of African descent. The themes covered are as diverse as the authors themselves. Many pieces rail against a system that institutionalizes poverty and racism. Others remember parents and grandparents who immigrated to the United States in search of a better life, only to learn that the American Dream is a nightmare for someone with dark skin and nappy hair...Some write in English, others in Spanish. They are Puerto Rican, Dominican and almost every combination conceivable, including Afro-Mexican. Containing the work of well-known writers such as Pedro Pietri, Miguel Piñero and E. Ethelbert Miller, less well-known ones are ready to be discovered in these pages."
Rielle Navitski & Leslie L. Marsh, University of Georgia, N.D.
Copyrighted open-access textbook that explores multiple forms of media and unpacks the relationship between media and identity, history, and culture in the context of Latinx communities.
Victor Martinez, 1996.
"In this beautifully written novel, Victor Martinez gives readers a vivid portrait of one Mexican-American boy’s life. Manny’s story is like a full-color home movie–sometimes funny, sometimes sad, but always intensely original."
This collection includes digitized books from Amherst College’s Native American Literature Collection, comprising more than 100 public domain works by or about Native Americans.
Free-to-access library collection of classic African American literature, including The Souls of Black Folk, Narrative of the Life of Frederick Douglass, Incidents in the Life of a Slave Girl, Southern Horrors, Darkwater: Voices from Within the Veil, Phillis Wheatley's Poems on Various Subjects, and several works by Zora Neale Hurston.
Primarily older works that can be found in Volume 1 of the Norton Anthology of African American Literature.
Farrington, Joshua, Norman W. Powell, Gwendolyn Graham, and Ogechi E. Anyanwu, Eastern Kentucky University (EKU), 2019.
This collaborative, interdisciplinary open textbook by EKU faculty "gives instructors, students, and general readers a comprehensive and up-to-date account of African Americans’ cultural and political history, economic development, artistic expressiveness, and religious and philosophical worldviews in a critical framework."
Digital Public Library of America (DPLA), N.D.
Free primary source collection with records pertaining to African American history and culture from the 1600s-present.
Published 2003
Open Source Shakespeare is used regularly by students and educators. Includes 38 plays, 154 sonnets, and 5 other poems. Search tools include an advanced search, search by individual words, and usage statistics. All works include line numbers for reference.
Published 1993
Another popular Shakespeare database. More visually accessible and user-friendly than OSS, but works do not include line numbers.
See Shakespeare performed at the historic outdoor Globe theatre and the Sam Wanamaker Playhouse, an indoor Jacobean theatre, in London. Includes 30 Shakespeare plays recorded live.
List of numerous primary source databases for further Shakespeare research of supplemental class material.
This collection includes digitized books from Amherst College’s Native American Literature Collection, comprising more than 100 public domain works by or about Native Americans.
"Writing the Nation: A Concise Guide to American Literature 1865 to Present is a text that surveys key literary movements and the American authors associated with the movement. Topics include late romanticism, realism, naturalism, modernism, and modern literature."
Selected poems by John Donne, includes introduction, biography, discussion questions and more teaching resources.
Selections: "The Plea," "The Good Morrow," "Song," "The Undertaking," "The Sun Rising," "The Indifferent," "The Canonization," "Air and Angels," "Break of Day," "The Valediction of Weeping," and more...
"Free resource for the study of Chaucer’s Canterbury Tales written and curated by professional scholars of medieval literature. The project is imagined as a resource for undergraduate and graduate students encountering the Tales early in their academic careers."
"A guide for students of early British Literature from the 8th to 18th centuries."
"A curated database of peer-reviewed digital materials for the study of the Middle Ages. Users can browse an alphabetical list or search using controlled-vocabulary subject tags to find vetted online resources of many types, including: image banks; bibliographies and reference works; pedagogical tools; editions and translations; music and other multimedia collections; interpretative websites; and new works of digital scholarship."
Open Source Shakespeare is used regularly by students and educators. Includes 38 plays, 154 sonnets, and 5 other poems. Search tools include an advanced search, search by individual words, and usage statistics.
This textbook provides students a comprehensive introduction to world literature. Divided into 3 parts: 1) "The Ancient World", 2) "The Middle Ages", and 3) "The Renaissance". Covers literature from East and South Asia, the Arabic world, and Western Europe.
Second volume of the above anthology, picking up during the 17th and 18th centuries, continuing through the 19th century, the 20th century, and the present. Has special access instructions, publisher recommends using the .epub format over the PDF.
