This text welcomes students to the study of California government and politics and invites them to develop their opinions and become active participants in shaping the future of our state.
This is a comprehensive, peer-reviewed textbook intended for a one-semester course on US government. Topics covered across 17 chapters include: the US Constitution, federalism, civil liberties, civil rights, public opinion, voting behavior and elections, the media, political parties, interest groups and lobbying, Congress, the presidency, courts, state and local government, the bureaucracy, domestic policy, and foreign policy.
Audio recordings of the book, by Brian Barrick, Political Science Instructor at LA Harbor College, are available on Spotify, YouTube, Apple Podcasts, and the project website.
This course provides a substantive overview of U.S. politics and an introduction to the discipline of political science. It surveys the institutional foundations of U.S. politics as well as the activities of political elites, organizations, and ordinary citizens. It explores the application of general political science concepts and analytic frameworks to specific episodes and phenomena in U.S. politics.
This introductory text includes 16 chapters on topics including: the study of politics, political behavior, political ideologies, civil liberties, public opinion, group political activity, civil rights, political parties and elections, legislatures, executives, bureaucracies, courts and law, the media, international relations, international institutions, and international political economy.
Introduction to Political Science Research Methods, 1st edition, surveys the research methods employed in political science. The textbook covers: history and development of the empirical study of politics; the scientific method; theories, hypotheses, variables, and units; conceptualization, operationalization and measurement of political concepts; elements of research design including the logic of sampling; qualitative and quantitative research methods and means of analysis; and research ethics.
This semester-long Canvas course shell includes an OER textbook equivalent, lesson plans, and ancillary materials. The curation and creation of this content was funded by the Academic Senate for California Community College’s Open Educational Resources Initiative.
Written by a professor of political theory in the London School of Economics’ Department of Government, this open access volume explores themes related to conflict, violence, and politics through essays on ten thinkers from antiquity into the present day. Part I of the book examines in separate chapters the contributions of Thucydides, Augustine, Machiavelli, and Hobbes on these themes, while Part II explores Locke, Rousseau, Clausewitz, Lenin and Mao, and Schmitt.
It is primarily intended for second year and upwards undergraduate students in general political science and international relations.
No commercial use and no adaptations - must only be shared in its original unedited form.
This 13-chapter textbook covers the following: System History: The Rise of the Modern World System; Images and Theories of World Politics; Foreign Policy Decision Making; Non-State Actors- IGOs, NGOs, MNCs; The World Economy; The Global North and South; Globalization; War and International Security; Military Power; Realists Paths to Peace – Alliances, Dominance and Treaties; Idealist Paths to Peace: International Law; and Human Rights, Population, and Environment. Chapters are organized into sections and the final section includes a list of questions. Unclear if it's been peer-reviewed.
This book is aimed at those with an interest in cultivating a clearer understanding of global politics. It will hopefully bring together those who are interested in the changing dynamics of the international system with those who seek to comprehend the often-bewildering pace of change in the world around them.
This course examines why democracy emerges and survives in some countries rather than in others; how political institutions affect economic development; and how American politics compares to that of other countries. It reviews economic, cultural, and institutional explanations for political outcomes. It also includes case studies of politics in several countries. Assignments include several papers of varying lengths and extensive structured and unstructured class participation.
This book focuses on multiple topics related to the Middle East: ancient history, religions, literature, and modern Middle Eastern issues related to politics, security, society and the economy.
The volume includes papers by Amar Annus, Tanja Dibou, Peeter Espak, Yoel Guzansky, Ingrida Kleinhofa, Jaan Lahe, Lidia Leontjeva, Aynura Mahmudova, Yossi Mann, Kobi Michael, Holger Mölder, Limor Nobel-Konig, Sandra Peets, Üllar Peterson, Illimar Ploom. Yurii Punda, Itamar Rickover, Vladimir Sazonov, Vitalii Shevchuk, Krzysztof Ulanowski, and Viljar Veebel.
This book is intended for readers who have never studied the Middle East, or experts who may wish to fill gaps in their knowledge. It covers the languages, cultural, religious and sectarian communities of the region, and selected turning points and influential people in history.
* Please note that some information may have become outdated since 2016. You may modify this textbook.
A collection of original readings (all translated into English). Some chapters have brief introductions of the authors and conceptual discussions for each unit.
This textbook is intended as an introduction to core concepts and topics in international relations. This book contains eighteen chapters organized into two parts. Part one on “the basics” covers international relations theories and institutions, while part two on “global issues” takes up topics such as global development, human rights, terrorism, and environmental challenges.
Note that this text does not appear to be peer-reviewed. Excerpt of review by Dr. Josh Franco, Political Science, Cuyamaca College: The coherent organization and structure of the textbook will help instructors facilitate the learning of the topic, as well as student’s learning about international relations.
According to reviews, this book "offers a highly accessible and exceptionally broad-ranging introduction to the field of International Relations theory. In 20 short chapters, the book provides a highly readable and comprehensive overview of core theoretical frameworks ranging from ‘mainstream’ realism and liberalism all the way to queer theory and critical geography. By placing each theory in context, and by providing a wealth of easily graspable examples, the book provides ‘one-stop shopping’ for the full range of theoretical frameworks and concepts – along with welcome attention to non-western perspectives."
This course provides an introduction to the causes of international conflict and cooperation. Topics include war initiation, crisis bargaining, international terrorism, nuclear strategy, interstate economic relations, economic growth, international law, human rights, and environmental politics.
Noncommercial use only. No adaptations allowed - must only be shared in its full original form.
This edited volume is organized as a dialogue on the theme of global citizenship. In response to a lead essay by Canadian political theorist James Tully, seven subsequent chapters offer responses to Tully’s framing of global citizenship. The ninth and final chapter offers a closing response from Tully.
This course analyzes theories of gender and politics, especially ideologies of gender and their construction; definitions of public and private spheres; and gender issues in citizenship, the development of the welfare state, experiences of war and revolution, class formation, and the politics of sexuality.
This course explores the role of race and ethnicity in modern American politics. It focuses on social science approaches to measuring the effects of race, both at the individual level and more broadly. Topics include race and representation, measurement of racial and ethnic identities, voting rights and electoral districting, protest and other forms of political participation, and the meaning and measurement of racial attitudes.
This course explores the role of race and ethnicity in modern American politics. It focuses on social science approaches to measuring the effects of race, both at the individual level and more broadly. Topics include race and representation, measurement of racial and ethnic identities, voting rights and electoral districting, protest and other forms of political participation, and the meaning and measurement of racial attitudes.
This book analyzes the emergence of corporate power within Latin America and the response of egalitarian movements across the continent trying to break open the constraints of the state.
This course explores the role of race and ethnicity in modern American politics. It focuses on social science approaches to measuring the effects of race, both at the individual level and more broadly. Topics include race and representation, measurement of racial and ethnic identities, voting rights and electoral districting, protest and other forms of political participation, and the meaning and measurement of racial attitudes.
